Zimbabwe’s 10th Parliament to be sworn in on Thursday

The newly elected Members of Parliament (MPs) and Senators will be sworn in on Thursday at the Parliament Building in Harare.

“It is hereby notified that, in terms of section 128 (1) of the Constitution, the day and time for Member of Parliament before the Clerk of Parliament in the form set out in the Third Schedule to the Constitution shall be – (a) ten o’clock in the morning on Thursday, the 7th of September, 2023, for Members of the National Assembly; and (b) half past two o’clock in the afternoon on Thursday, the 7th of September, 2023, for Members of the Senate; at the Parliament Building, Harare,” said Clerk of Parliament Kennedy Chokuda.

Chokuda warned that no party regalia would not be allowed and those who defied the order would be barred from accessing the parliament building.

The swearing-in ceremony for the MPs will take place in the morning, starting at 10:00 AM, while the swearing-in ceremony for the Senators will take place in the afternoon, starting at 2:30 PM.

A total of 279 MPs including proportional representation members are expected to take their oath of office with Zanu PF having 176 legislators and CCC 103 legislators.

Ninety senators would be sworn in, made up of 33 Zanu PF senators and 27 CCC senators. They will be joined by 18 chiefs and two senators representing people with disabilities.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button