26 councillors sworn in at Hwange Rural District Council

Twenty-six councillors, 20 directly elected and six from the Women’s Quota, were on Monday sworn in to start work in the Hwange Rural District Council (HRDC).

The local authority has 20 wards and Zanu-PF and Citizens for Coalition Change have nine each.

One is independent and another is from MDC-T.

The six proportional representation councillors are from Zanu-PF and CCC which have three each.

HRDC chief executive Phindile Ncube presided over the swearing-in ceremony where the councillors took oaths of office in Victoria Falls.

After taking their oaths on Monday, the councillors will undergo induction at the same venue Tuesday and Wednesday.

“We are here to have councillors take their oaths of office following the elections on 23 August. We will meet again here for training where we will be joined by Hwange Local Board councillors for training for two days,” said Ncube.

Hwange Local Board councillors were sworn in last Monday.

The HRDC councillors are Vulindlela Mhlanga of ward 1 Bongonkosi Moyo of ward 2, Paul Kapanda (ward 4), Africa Peggy Ncube (ward 5), Fanuel Mudimba (ward 7), Morven Mumpande (ward 8), Lethukuthula Ngwenya (ward 10), Joshua Tshuma (ward 11) and Mathew Muleya (ward 19) all Zanu-PF.

Those from CCC are Pasca Mpofu (ward 9), Jowani Tshuma (ward 12), Morris Sibanda (ward 13), Valleta Moyo (ward 14), Olpha Mujele Lisutu (ward 15), Eugen Mafa Dube (ward 16), Eugene Sibanda (ward 17), Stanley Torima (ward 18) and Wonder Ncube (ward 20).

Givemeagain Moyo of ward 3 was retained on MDC-T ticket while Namo Chuma was voted as independent in ward 6.

Women’s Quota councillors are Melina Gwebu, Sikatele Moyo, Caroline Siankope (all Zanu-PF), Sipho Virginia Ncube, Sikhanyiso Moyo, and Nolia Gumede (all CCC).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button