Govt reinstates Umguza RDC Councillors

The government has reinstated four Umguza Rural District Council (RDC) councillors who had filed an urgent chamber application with the Bulawayo High Court challenging their suspension last month.

The councillors are David Moyo (Ward 15), Mary Shelton (Ward 2), Earnest Sibanda (Ward 13) and Sisa Moyo (Ward 8).

The four were suspended together with their chairperson, Councillor Alexander Mhlanga, last month by Local Government Deputy Minister, Marian Chombo, for allegedly working in cahoots with suspended Umguza RDC Chief Executive Officer Collen Moyo who is facing criminal charges to throw spanners into Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission (ZACC)’s investigations.

Umguza RDC is currently being investigated by ZACC on land allocation corruption and other related underhand deals.

In a letter to concerned councillors’ lawyers, Tanaka Law Chambers dated August 12, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Local Government and Public Works, one K. L Murefu-Tshuma said the Ministry had withdrawn suspension letters.

“We acknowledge receipt of the urgent chamber application,” said Murefu-Tshuma.  “The Ministry has withdrawn the suspension letters. We, therefore, request a withdrawal of the matter before the courts.”

Local Government and Public Works Minister, July Moyo has also written to the four councillors also notifying them of the withdrawal of the suspension letters.

“Taking cognizance of the urgent chamber application, which you filed with the Bulawayo High Court, case no 1091/21, I hereby withdraw the suspension letter dated 2 July 2021,” reads the letter addressed to each of the four councillors.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button