CCC fields double candidates in Bulawayo

The newly formed Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) fielded double candidates for two council wards in Bulawayo, a surprising turn of events after the party pledged to listen and respect the choices of its supporters.

The double candidature was in Ward 9 (Mpopoma) and Ward 26 (Emganwini) where critics said the ‘newly rebranded’ political party will be forced to reign in on its members

This was exposed at the Nomination Court for local authorities held at the council chambers after former councillor Donaldson Mabuto and Bekithemba Nyathi both filed their papers for Ward 9 while Norman Hlabano and Mpikelelo Moyo will compete for Ward 26.

Mabutho is the former councillor who was recalled and in an earlier interview with CITE claimed he had received a “unanimous endorsement from residents.”

Nyathi is a former MP for Pelandaba – Mpopoma from 2008 to 2013 under the MDC-T then led by the late Dr Morgan Tsvangirai.

Nyathi was replaced by Charles Moyo of the same party in the following 2013 election.

In an interview, Nyathi alleged the CCC party process of selecting a candidate was flawed.

“The process was flawed. It was clear from the people they didn’t want the candidate (Mabutho). It was flawed and manipulated. I, under pressure from the people, had to file my papers,” he said.

The party acknowledged its flawed candidate selection criteria and promised to iron it out.

“The organs of the movement are seized with the matter to ensure everything is rectified. We assure the citizens that there will be no double candidates and the will of the people will prevail,” the party said in its official Twitter account.

In 2018, CCC when it was still MDC Alliance, fielded double candidates in Bulawayo South constituency, a decision that worked against them as Zanu PF candidate Raj Modi won the seat. the first MP to win a seat in the opposition’s stronghold.

However, the nomination process for the vacant Matabeleland North seats went smoothly, with the presiding officer, Richard Sibanda, saying the nomination court went smoothly.

“We started at exactly 10 am and closed at exactly 4 pm. The submissions of the lodging of nomination court papers were quite smooth right up to the end. No aspiring candidates were turned away, all of them qualified and their papers sailed through.  In brief, that’s what I can say. We hope they are all bracing for the by-election coming on March 26 2022,” he said.

The following candidates were duly nominated for the Binga North constituency: Peggy Mudimba of MDC Alliance, Munsaka Kudakwashe Mavula of Zanu PF, Muzamba Clive of United Democratic Alliance, Prince Dubeko Sibanda of CCC and an independent Disciple Munkuli.

For the Tsholotsho South constituency, the following were duly nominated: Leonard Mthombeni of ZAPU, Musa Ncube of Zanu PF, Tapson Nganunu Sibanda of CCC and Bongani Moyo an independent.

“Since more than one candidate has been duly nominated in both constituencies – Binga North and Tsholotsho South, the by-elections shall take place on Saturday, March 26, 2022 in accordance with subsection 17 (c ) 46 of the Electoral Act Chapter 2:13 as read with Proclamation No 2 of 2022. The proceedings of this Nomination Court are hereby terminated,” said the presiding officer.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button