The National People’s Party (NPP), led by Dr Joice Mujuru continues to suffer from mass defections after eight senior party members in Matabeleland North resigned from the party.

This follows the resignation of the party’s vice president Dr Samuel Sipepa Nkomo, National Chairperson Mr Dzikamai Mavhaire and secretary for information and publicity Mr Jeffreyson Chitando yesterday.

In a letter addressed to the party’s Acting Secretary General, Dr Crispen Karanda, the Matabeleland North provincial working committee members cited “delayed engagement” by the national leadership as their reason for ditching the party.

“Despite alerting you on the sad state in the Province where there are mass resignation and defections, we feel your delay in addressing this by saying some meetings will be held is just a delaying tactic that is meant to buy time while you leave us at provincial level burning from supported rage,” read a letter seen by CITE.

“Because of the above we therefore kindly revoke our membership from NPP and resign from the positions that came with it”.

Those who resigned include Howard Phangwana (Chairman), Annastacia Moyo (Vice-Chairperson),  Bright Mvaya (Secretary General),  Roseline Nkomo (Treasurer), Donald Shoko (Secretary for Information), Lameck Ndlovu (Organising Secretary), Rachel Malunjwa (Chairperson of Women Wing) and Bernard Ncube (Chairperson of FF Wing).

Efforts to get a comment from the Acting Secretary-General Dr Crispen Karanda were fruitless as he said he was in a meeting.

The party managed to garner a single National Assembly seat in the July 30 harmonised elections.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button